Chair: Theresa Slifko, PhD (

Vice Chair: Gordon Williams, PhD (

Secretary: Raha Shirkhani (

Committee Charge and Roster

The list of committee members, and their charge, is available on this page.

CA-NV Section Academic Achievement Award

Purpose of the Awards
The CA-NV AWWA (Section) Academic Achievement Awards would encourage academic excellence by recognizing graduate students and their professors that have made outstanding contributions to the field of public water supply through their work at a university in California and Nevada. It would also serve as a promotional channel to encourage potential candidates to compete in the AWWA (National) Academic Achievement Awards.

The Award
There are two categories, including Doctoral and Master’s and up to four awards will be awarded every year with a monetary reward of $1,000 for first place and $500 for the second place in each category.   The winners will be issued with the “CA-NV AWWA
Academic Achievement Award” certificate as well.

Frequency of the Award

Eligibility for the Award
All the Doctoral Dissertations and Masters Thesis that are relevant to the public water supply are eligible.  Manuscripts must reflect the work of a single author and be submitted during the competition year in which the manuscript is submitted for degree.  The competition is open to students majoring in any subject, provided the work is directly related to the public water supply.

Entry Requirements

The submittals for award consideration are the same for both the CA-NV Section awards and the national AWWA awards, which include:

  • Entry form (download )
  • Thesis/Dissertation/Manuscript (unbound, saved as a PDF)
  • One-page abstract
Letter of endorsement from the major professor or department chair

Submit the complete application package to  All the submittals eligible for the awards and meet the submittal deadline are automatically considered.

Submission Deadline

June 22, 2020
For more information, contact:

2020 CA-NV AWWA Section Academic Achievement Awards Flyer - View Flyer

2018 Award Winners
First Place PhD:
Michelle Chebeir, University of California, Riverside, Dissertation Title: "Occurrence and Transformation of Chromium in Drinking Water Distribution System"
Second Place PhD:
Erfaneh Amoueyan, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Dissertation Title: "Static and Dynamic Quantitative Microbial Risk Assessment of Potable Reuse Paradigms"
First Place Master's:
Fernanda Bacaro, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Thesis Title: "N-Nitrosodimethylamine Formation and Mitigation in Potable Reuse Treatment Trains Employing Ozone and Biofiltration"

2017 Award Winners

First Place PhD:
Larry Gao, University of California, Los Angeles, Dissertation Title: “Self-Adaptive Control of Integrated Ultrafiltration and Reverse Osmosis Desalination Systems“

2016 Award Winners
First Place PhD:
Erica J. Marti, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Dissertation Title: “Ozonation in Water Reuse: Formation and Mitigation of N-Nitrosodimethylamine”